Hockey Canada Foundation

Hockey is Hers
group smiles can flag blk 1500

Canada’s Game Belongs to All Canadians

Hockey Is Hers is our three-year, three-million-dollar commitment to help the girls and women of Canada get involved with hockey. Hockey has undeniably positive impacts on the people who play, and we believe those impacts should be shared by all – regardless of gender.

To ensure we achieve a long-lasting and genuinely positive impact on the female game, we have focused our funding into three strategic imperatives – the development of female coaching, recruitment and retention of girls in the sport, and the support of our Canada’s Woman’s National Team.

When you give to Hockey Is Hers, you help share a Canadian tradition with Canada’s girls and women. You demonstrate to the woman who represent Canada on our national teams that their level of play and work commands respect. You help local coaches and leaders continue to build connections and confidence in youth across the country. And of course, you send the message that hockey is hers to girls and women everywhere.

Donate Today

Learn about how coaching, recruitment and retention, and the National Women's Team impact the female game:

Coaching

Girls in Hockey, Need Women in Hockey


player coach smiles 1500

We believe girls should be able to play hockey in a safe environment where they can be themselves, learn, and have fun - and we know that these kinds of environments only exist when the right coaches are on the ice. Because of this, Hockey Is Hers is dedicated to supporting female coaches, so that they can continue to create positive environments, serve as role models, and help younger players develop a lifelong connection with the game.

“Women have long been a crucial piece of the mosaic that is Canadian hockey. While we are proud of the intangibles the game offers to better the women who play it, we must also recognize the benefits they bring in raising hockey to a higher level. This is especially true behind the bench, where increasing the number of female coaches will provide role models for young girls, keep them in the game and increase the likelihood of staying involved as coaches themselves when their playing days are done”

– Tom Renney – CEO, Hockey Canada

Our Efforts

Women Master Coach Developer

A training session consisting of 30 female leaders in the coaching field provides evaluator and facilitator training that teach the tools needed to inspire and inform the future generations of female hockey.

The Woman Master Coach Summit

A weekend gathering of Canada’s leading female hockey coaches that will engage them in hands-on workshops, and expose them to speaking engagements delivered by influential female coaches across multiple sports. Participants will get the chance to discuss and consider the challenges and opportunities surrounding women’s leadership in hockey.

Support Our Coaches

Help us develop and support the coaches and leaders of the female game by donating here.

Recruitment and Retention

Girls Grow with Hockey


red players 4 smiles 1500

The recruitment and retention components of Hockey Is Hers are built on the core idea that good things happen when girls get in the game. Self-confidence, health, social connections, and academic performance all improve when girls get on the ice.

Because of this Hockey Is Hers is dedicated to recruiting and retaining girls in hockey so that the future of the woman’s game remains bright.

Our Efforts

Dreams Come True

A financial support program that subsidizes registration, equipment, and session fees so that families facing hardships can get their girls involved in hockey.

NHL/NHLPA First Shift

A six-week program that introduces hockey to children ages 6-10 who might otherwise never experience the sport. The program provides fully fitted sets of head-to-toe equipment, 6 on-ice training sessions, and a safe environment where girls can develop an appreciation for the game.

Esso Fun Days

An all ages introduction to female hockey that is free for the participants. The program removes financial barriers to participation and provides a fun and inclusive environment where girls and women can make connections with each other, learn the basics of hockey, and build self-confidence together.

Support our Girls

Support our programs by giving here.

National Teams

Giving High Level Respect to Our High-Level Players


2019 wwu18c champs 1500

Women who play for the national team not only represent Canada, they serve as role models for girls across Canada and show them that women have a bright future in the sport. We believe that supporting girls in hockey also means supporting the women in hockey who have reached the highest level of the game. Hockey Is Hers is dedicated to extending that support to the Canadian national team players.

Our Efforts

Strength and Conditioning Camp ($150,000/year)

High performance conditioning and professional development for involved staff.

Senior Leaders Workshop ($50,000/year)

Off-ice development of female leaders in hockey with an emphasis on skills enhancement, accountability, and what it means to be a leader for future generations.

Position Specific Camps ($100,000/year)

High performance training camps focused on specific roles, play-types, and positions.

Re-introduction of Goalie Camp ($115,000/year)

A 3-4 day camp that focuses on goaltending technique and development.

Support Our Women

Support our Woman’s National Teams by giving here.

Fondation Hockey Canada

Hockey pour elle
group smiles can flag blk 1500

Le sport du Canada appartient à tous les Canadiens et Canadiennes

Hockey pour elle est notre engagement de trois millions de dollars sur trois ans visant à encourager les filles à s’impliquer dans le hockey. Le hockey a indéniablement des impacts positifs sur ceux qui le pratiquent, et nous croyons que tous devraient profiter de ces impacts – indépendamment de leur sexe.

Pour nous assurer d’avoir un impact durable et véritablement positif sur le hockey féminin, nous avons concentré notre financement sur trois impératifs stratégiques – le développement des entraîneuses, le recrutement et la rétention des filles dans le sport, et le soutien de l’équipe nationale féminine du Canada.

Quand vous donnez à Hockey pour elle, vous contribuez à partager une tradition canadienne avec les filles et les femmes du Canada. Vous montrez aux femmes qui représentent le Canada que leur niveau de jeu et leur travail méritent d’être respectés. Vous aidez des entraîneuses et des chefs de file locales à continuer de tisser des liens avec des jeunes partout au pays et à accroître leur confiance. Et, bien sûr, vous envoyez le message que le hockey pour elle s’adresse aux filles et aux femmes de partout.

Donnez dès aujourd'hui

Voyez comment ces trois impératifs ont un impact sur le hockey féminin :

Entraînement

Les filles qui pratiquent le hockey ont besoin de femmes au hockey.


player coach smiles 1500

Nous croyons que les filles devraient pouvoir jouer au hockey dans un milieu sûr où elles peuvent être elles-mêmes, apprendre et s’amuser – et nous savons que ce genre de milieu n’existe que lorsque les bons entraîneurs sont sur la glace. C’est pour cette raison que Hockey pour elle appuie les entraîneuses afin qu’elles puissent continuer à créer des milieux positifs, servir de modèles et aider les jeunes joueuses à développer un lien permanent avec notre sport.

Les femmes sont depuis longtemps un élément crucial de la mosaïque qu’est le hockey canadien. Bien que nous soyons fiers des avantages que le sport offre en permettant à celles qui le pratiquent de s’améliorer, nous devons également reconnaître les avantages que celles-ci apportent en pratiquant le hockey. Ceci est particulièrement vrai derrière le banc, où l’augmentation du nombre d’entraîneuses fournira des modèles aux jeunes filles, les gardera dans le sport et augmentera leurs chances de devenir entraîneuses elles-mêmes après leur carrière de joueuse. »

– Tom Renney – chef de la direction, Hockey Canada

Nos efforts

Sommet des responsables du développement des entraîneuses

Une fin de semaine réunissant les meilleures entraîneuses au hockey féminin du Canada qui les engagera dans des ateliers pratiques et les exposera à des allocutions prononcées par des entraîneurs influents provenant de plusieurs sports. Les participantes auront l’occasion de discuter des défis et des occasions entourant le leadership des femmes au hockey.

Appuyez nos entraîneuses

Aidez-nous à développer et à appuyer les entraîneuses et les chefs de file du hockey féminin en effectuant un don à la campagne Hockey pour elle.

 

Recrutement et rétention

Les filles s’épanouissent au hockey


red players 4 smiles 1500

Les composantes du recrutement et de la rétention de la campagne Hockey pour elle reposent sur le principe que de belles choses se produisent lorsque les filles jouent au hockey. La confiance en soi, la santé, les relations sociales et les résultats scolaires s’améliorent lorsque les filles s’avancent sur la glace.

C’est pour cette raison que Hockey pour elle se consacre au recrutement et à la rétention des filles au hockey afin que l’avenir de ce sport reste prometteur.

Nos efforts

Rêves devenus réalité

Un programme d’aide financière qui subventionne l’inscription, l’équipement et les frais des séances sur glace afin que les familles confrontées à des difficultés puissent faire participer leurs filles au hockey.

Première Présence LNH/AJLNH

Un programme d’introduction au hockey de six semaines qui initie les enfants de 6 à 10 ans qui autrement ne goûteraient sans doute probablement jamais au sport. Le programme comprend un équipement complet ajusté de la tête aux pieds, six séances d’entraînement sur glace et un milieu sûr où les filles peuvent apprendre à aimer le jeu.

Découvrez le hockey avec Esso

Un programme d’introduction au hockey gratuit pour les filles et les femmes. Le programme élimine les obstacles financiers à la participation et offre un milieu sécuritaire et inclusif où les filles et les femmes peuvent créer des liens, apprendre les habiletés de base du hockey et bâtir leur confiance.

Appuyez nos filles

Appuyer nos programmes et donner à la campagne Hockey pour elle aujourd’hui.

 

Équipes nationales

Accordez un respect de haut niveau à des joueuses de haut niveau


2019 wwu18c champs 1500

Les femmes qui jouent pour Équipe Canada ne représentent pas seulement leur pays, elles servent de modèles aux filles partout au Canada et elles leur montrent que les femmes ont un brillant avenir dans le sport. Nous croyons qu’appuyer les filles au hockey signifie également appuyer les femmes au hockey qui ont atteint le plus haut niveau du sport. Hockey pour elle s’est engagée à élargir cet appui à l’équipe nationale.

Nos efforts

Camp de préparation physique (150 000 $ par année)

Conditionnement physique de haute performance et perfectionnement professionnel pour le personnel concerné.

Atelier des chefs de file (50 000 $ par année)

Développement hors glace de chefs de file au hockey féminin axé sur l’amélioration des compétences, la responsabilisation, et ce que signifie être une chef de file pour les générations futures.

Camps propres à une position (100 000 $ par année)

Camps entraînement de la haute performance axés sur des rôles, des positions et des types de jeu précis.

Reprise du camp pour les gardiennes de but (115 000 $ par année)

Un camp de plusieurs jours axé sur la technique et le développement des gardiennes de but.

Appuyez nos femmes

Appuyer les équipes nationales féminines du Canada en donnant à la campagne Hockey pour elle aujourd’hui.