Founded in 1963 by Father David Bauer, Canada’s National Men’s Team was a full-time program from 1963-68 and 1983-2000, giving Canada a constant presence at major international events around the world. Today, the team gathers for a select number of tournaments every season, including the Spengler Cup and IIHF World Championship.

World Championship
All-Time Results
Year Gold Silver Bronze CAN Location
2023 CAN GER LAT 1st Tampere, FIN & Riga, LAT
2022 FIN CAN CZE 2nd Helsinki & Tampere, FIN
2021 CAN FIN USA 1st Riga, LAT
2020 Cancelled due to COVID-19 pandemic Zürich & Lausanne, SUI
2019 FIN CAN RUS 3rd Bratislava & Kosice, SVK
2018 SWE SUI USA 4th Copenhagen & Herning, DEN
2017 SWE CAN RUS 2nd Cologne, GER & Paris, FRA
2016 CAN FIN RUS 1st Moscow & St. Petersburg, RUS
2015 CAN RUS USA 1st Prague & Ostrava, CZE
2014 RUS FIN SWE 5th Minsk, BLR
2013 SWE SUI USA 5th Stockholm, SWE & Helsinki, FIN
2012 RUS SVK CZE 5th Helsinki, FIN & Stockholm, SWE
2011 FIN SWE CZE 5th Bratislava & Kosice, SVK
2010 CZE RUS SWE 7th Cologne & Mannheim, GER
2009 RUS CAN SWE 2nd Bern & Kloten, SUI
2008 RUS CAN FIN 2nd Quebec City, Que. & Halifax, N.S.
2007 CAN FIN RUS 1st Moscow, RUS
2006 SWE CZE FIN 4th Riga, LAT
2005 CZE CAN RUS 2nd Vienna & Innsbruck, AUT
2004 CAN SWE USA 1st Prague & Ostrava, CZE
2003 CAN SWE SVK 1st Helsinki, Turku & Tampere, FIN
2002 SVK RUS SWE 6th Gothenburg, Karlstad & Jönköping, SWE
2001 CZE FIN SWE 5th Cologne, Hanover & Nuremberg, GER
2000 CZE SVK FIN 4th St. Petersburg, RUS
1999 CZE FIN SWE 4th Oslo, Lillehammer & Hamar, NOR
1998 SWE FIN CZE 6th Zürich & Basel, SUI
1997 CAN SWE CZE 1st Helsinki, Turku & Tampere, FIN
1996 CZE CAN USA 2nd Vienna, AUT
1995 FIN SWE CAN 3rd Stockholm & Gävle, SWE
1994 CAN FIN SWE 1st Bolzano, Canazei & Milan, ITA
1993 RUS SWE CZE 4th Dortmund & Munich, GER
1992 SWE FIN TCH 7th Prague & Bratislava, TCH
1991 SWE CAN URS 2nd Turku, Helsinki & Tampere, FIN
1990 URS SWE TCH 4th Berne & Fribourg, SUI
1989 URS CAN TCH 2nd Stockholm & Södertälje, SWE
1988 Not held (Olympic Winter Games)
1987 SWE URS TCH 4th Vienna, AUT
1986 URS SWE CAN 3rd Moscow, URS
1985 TCH CAN URS 2nd Prague, TCH
1984 Not held (Olympic Winter Games)
1983 URS TCH CAN 3rd Düsseldorf, Dortmund & Munich, FRG
1982 URS TCH CAN 3rd Helsinki & Tampere, FIN
1981 URS SWE TCH 4th Stockholm & Gothenburg, SWE
1980 Not held (Olympic Winter Games)
1979 URS TCH SWE 4th Moscow, URS
1978 URS TCH CAN 3rd Prague, TCH
1977 TCH SWE URS 4th Vienna, AUT
1976 TCH URS SWE Did not participate Katowice, POL
1975 URS TCH SWE Did not participate Munich & Düsseldorf, FRG
1974 URS TCH SWE Did not participate Helsinki, FIN
1973 URS SWE TCH Did not participate Moscow, URS
1972 CZE URS SWE Did not participate Prague, TCH
1971 URS TCH SWE Did not participate Bern & Geneva, SUI
1970 URS SWE TCH Did not participate Stockholm, SWE
1969 URS SWE TCH 4th Stockholm, SWE
1968 URS TCH CAN 3rd Grenoble, FRA (Winter Olympics)
1967 URS SWE CAN 3rd Vienna, AUT
1966 URS TCH CAN 3rd Ljubljana, YUG
1965 URS TCH SWE 4th Tampere, FIN
1964 URS SWE TCH 4th Innsbruck, AUT (Winter Olympics)
1963 URS SWE TCH 4th Stockholm, SWE
1962 SWE CAN USA 2nd Colorado Springs & Denver, Colo.
1961 CAN TCH URS 1st Geneva & Lausanne, SUI
1960 USA CAN URS 2nd Squaw Valley, Calif. (Winter Olympics)
1959 CAN URS TCH 1st Prague & Bratislava, TCH
1958 CAN URS SWE 1st Oslo, NOR
1957 SWE URS TCH Did not participate Moscow, URS
1956 URS USA CAN 3rd Cortina d'Ampezzo, ITA (Winter Olympics)
1955 CAN URS TCH 1st Krefeld, Dortmund & Cologne, FRG
1954 URS CAN SWE 2nd Stockholm, SWE
1953 SWE FRG SUI Did not participate Zürich & Basel SUI
1952 CAN USA SWE 1st Oslo, NOR (Winter Olympics)
1951 CAN SWE SUI 1st Paris, FRA
1950 CAN USA SUI 1st London, GBR
1949 TCH CAN USA 2nd Stockholm, SWE
1948 CAN TCH SUI 1st St. Moritz, SUI
1947 TCH SWE AUT Did not participate Prague, TCH
1940-46 Not held (World War II)
1939 CAN USA SUI 1st Zürich & Basel, SUI
1938 CAN GBR TCH 1st Prague, TCH
1937 CAN GBR SUI 1st London, GBR
1936 GBR CAN USA 2nd Garmisch-Partenkirchen, GER (Winter Olympics)
1935 CAN SUI GBR 1st Davos, SUI
1934 CAN USA GER 1st Milan, ITA
1933 USA CAN TCH 2nd Prague, TCH
1932 CAN USA GER 1st Lake Placid, N.Y. (Winter Olympics)
1931 CAN USA AUT 1st Krynica, POL
1930 CAN GER SUI 1st Chamonix, FRA, Berlin GER & Vienna, AUT
1928 CAN SWE SUI 1st St. Moritz, SUI (Winter Olympics)
1924 CAN USA GBR 1st Chamonix, FRA (Winter Olympics)
1920 CAN USA TCH 1st Antwerp, BEL (Summer Olympics)

NOTE: All Olympic hockey tournaments between 1920 and 1968 also counted as the IIHF World Championship.

National Men's Team
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – USA 1 (Gold Medal)
Kingsmill was sensational, backstopping Canada to a world title.
2024 WPHC: CAN 2 – CHN 1 (Semifinal)
Kovacevich and Cozzolino scored to send Canada to play for gold.
2024 WPHC: CAN 5 – CZE 1 (Preliminary)
Dunn and McGregor had 2G each as Canada capped a perfect prelims.
2024 WPHC: CAN 10 – ITA 0 (Preliminary)
McGregor scored four goals to help Canada to its second win.