2014 World Under-17 Hockey Challenge

3 Stars of the Day

SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 8, 2014

1. Maxim Kalyayev (Russia)
Another day, another Russian goaltender atop the list. Like Vladislav Sukhachyov on Friday, Kalyayev didn’t have to be stand-on-his-head fantastic – his defence blocked countless shots, which helped – but he was there when called upon, keeping the tournament’s highest-scoring offence off the scoreboard for more than 58 minutes, and helping Russia to a third gold medal.

2. Alexander Yakovenko (Russia)
There wasn’t much to choose from among the Russians, who managed just 16 shots on goal – seven in the final 40 minutes and only one in the third period. But Yakovenko’s cannon from the high slot early in the second gave Russia all the offence it would need; the defenceman’s goal made it a 2-0 game and stood up as the game-winner, and gold medal-winner.

3. William Fällström (Sweden)
Like the Russians, Sweden managed to do more with less, scoring three times on just 18 shots. And Fällström, the Swedish captain, had the one that counted, hammering home a one-timer on a three-on-one break with seven minutes left in the second period; the eventual game-winning goal helped the Swedes to a win over Finland, and their third U17 medal in six years.


FRIDAY, NOVEMBER 7, 2014

1. Vladislav Sukhachyov (Russia)
The Russians exploded offensively in a 6-1 semifinal win over Finland, but that doesn’t mean Sukhachyov didn’t play a major role in the victory. The goaltender finished with 30 saves – Russia was outshot 31-28 – and made more than one see-it-to-believe-it stop, particularly when the Finns made a push to cut into a two-goal Russian advantage late in the first period. 

2. Clayton Keller (United States)
Keller put up his third game of at least three points in the tournament, all of them assists, and, most importantly, helped lead the Americans back to the gold medal game. Keller’s three helpers gave him a tournament-leading 13 points, and he’s one of just four players (with Jones, Khodorenko and Nylander) to record a point in all five games thus far.

3. Felix Lauzon (Canada Black)/Brett Howden (Canada White)
The two Canadians shared the role of overtime hero in Lambton Shores on Friday, both scoring game-winning goals early in the extra period to help their teams finish with wins. Lauzon was up first, scoring 97 seconds in to help Black take seventh place, followed a few hours later by Howden, whose goal on a OT power play led White past Canada Red for fifth spot.


THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 6, 2014

1. Filip Gustavsson (Sweden)
The shots came early and often, and Gustavsson was there time and time again. The Swedish goaltender stopped all 35 shots he faced to blank Canada White and help Sweden reach the semifinals, setting up a final four meeting with the U.S. Gustavsson, who hasn’t allowed a goal in close to 166 minutes of action, was at his busiest in the third period, making 16 stops.

2. Dmitry Sokolov (Russia)
Sokolov has been unquestionably the best Russian on the ice in Sarnia and Lambton Shores, and he proved it again Thursday, almost single-handedly leading Russia past Canada Red and into the semifinals. With the game tied 1-1 early in the third period, Sokolov scored goals less than three minutes apart, and added an assist later in the period for good measure.

3. Kristian Vesalainen (Finland)
The Finns have been one of the big surprises of the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge, and Vesalainen made sure the Scandinavians’ unexpected run lasted at least one more day, scoring twice in the first period to give the Finns a lead they wouldn’t relinquish, and finishing his hat trick late in the second to help book Finland’s first trip to the semifinals since 1995.


TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 4, 2014

1. Clayton Keller (United States)
Keller makes his second consecutive appearance on the 3 Stars of the Day, jumping up two spots after a second consecutive four-point performance. The tournament scoring leader (6-3—9 in three games) had a goal and an assist in a four-goal first period, scored again early in the second and capped his hat trick late in the third, helping the U.S. to first in Group B.

2. Alexander Nylander (Sweden)
The son of former NHLer Michael and brother of Toronto Maple Leafs first-rounder William, Alexander Nylander is making a name for himself in southwestern Ontario. Nylander scored once and added two assists as the Swedes rolled past Slovakia 7-0, and he sits fifth in tournament scoring after the preliminary round with a goal and four helpers.

3. Stuart Skinner (Canada Black)
Canada Black has finally found its way into the win column, and it has its goaltender to thank for that first ‘W’. Skinner didn’t have to be spectacular against Finland but he was rock solid; the Edmonton, Alta., native finished with 23 saves, 13 of which came in a busy second period when it was a 1-1 game, and he helped turn back a late comeback attempt by the Finns.


MONDAY, NOVEMBER 3, 2014

1. Nicolas Hague (Canada White)
He’ll never be confused for Paul Coffey or Bobby Orr in the offensive zone, but Hague has something neither of those two Hockey Hall of Famers has – an overtime winner for Team Canada. The big defenceman gave Canada White its first win Monday night, hammering a point shot off the post and in with just over a minute left in the extra period to beat Canada Black.

2. Aapeli Räsänen (Finland)
The Finnish captain helped his team avoid a monumental collapse, scoring the lone goal in the shootout to lead Finland over Russia and keep the Scandinavians in control of first place in Group A. Räsänen also added two assists in regulation for the Finns, who led 4-0 with less than 13 minutes to go before a frantic Russian comeback forced extra time.

3. Clayton Keller (United States)
Keller was all over the ice for the Americans in their win over Slovakia, picking up two assists in the first period, a goal in the second and another in the third to record the best single-game scoring performance thus far, and help the U.S. stay unbeaten. The Swansea, Ill., native sits atop the tournament scoring list through two days, tied with teammate Nick Pastujov. 


SUNDAY, NOVEMBER 2, 2014

1. Nick Pastujov (United States)
With the U.S. and Sweden deadlocked at 3-3 late in the second period, Pastujov stepped up offensively, earning the second assist on Patrick Khodorenko’s go-ahead goal, picking up the primary helper on Clayton Keller’s insurance marker early in the third and scoring into an empty net in the final minute, helping the Americans open defence of their gold medal with a win.

2. Logan Stanley (Canada Red)
Stanley has yet to register a point in 10 games with the OHL’s Windsor Spitfires, but the 6-foot-6 defenceman found the back of the net not once, but twice on Sunday, going high over the glove in the first period and low through the five-hole in the third, helping Red to a lopsided shutout win over Slovakia, and Sunday's lone victory by a Canadian team.

3. Leevi Laakso (Finland)
The Finnish goaltender was a big reason his team earned a rare preliminary round win on Sunday, turning aside 27 of 28 shots to help the Scandinavians beat Canada White and spoil the first-ever game by a Canadian national under-17 team. Laakso was at his best in the third period, making 12 stops to clinch just the third round-robin win in 13 tries by the Finns since 2000.

Videos
Photos
Scoring
Goaltending
R Player Goals Assists PTS
1. Clayton Keller 6 7 13
2. Max Jones 7 4 11
3. Vitali Abramov 3 6 9
3. Dmitri Sokolov 6 3 9
4. Nick Pastujov 3 5 8
5. Alexander Nylander 2 5 7
5. Chad Krys 0 7 7
6. Kailer Yamamoto 3 3 6
6. Otto Somppi 3 3 6
6. Maxim Bain 4 2 6
R Player GAA SV %
1. Jake Oettinger 1.34 .934
2. Filip Gustavsson 1.61 .942
3. Vladislav Sukhachyov 1.70 .931
4. Maxim Kalyayev 2.28 .922
5. Joseph Woll 2.33 .905
6. Evan Fitzpatrick 2.43 .909
7. Ryan Kubic 2.84 .882
8. Samuel Harvey 3.00 .886
9. Leevi Laakso 3.06 .873
10. Kimmo Rautiainen 3.28 .854
Close
Credit  
Results
Standings
Nov 02, 2014
5
1
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
6
3
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
5
1
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
6
0
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
Nov 03, 2014
5
4
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
1
7
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
5
4
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
2
4
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
Nov 04, 2014
7
0
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
4
3
Final
Sarnia Arena, Sarnia, Ont.
2
4
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
7
3
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
Nov 06, 2014
1
4
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
1
5
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
4
1
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
2
0
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
Nov 07, 2014
2
3
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
1
4
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
3
2
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
6
1
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
Nov 08, 2014
3
1
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
2
1
Final
RBC Centre
Group A
Team GP W L OTW OTL PTS
RUS (RUS) 6 4 1 0 1 13
FIN (FIN) 6 2 3 1 0 8
WHT (WHT) 5 1 2 2 0 7
BLK (BLK) 5 1 2 1 1 6
Group B
Team GP W L OTW OTL PTS
USA (USA) 6 5 1 0 0 15
SWE (SWE) 6 3 3 0 0 9
RED (RED) 5 2 2 0 1 7
SVK (SVK) 5 0 4 0 1 1
Recent News
Most Popular

Défi mondial de hockey des moins de 17 ans 2014

3 étoiles du jour

SAMEDI 8 NOVEMBRE 2014

1. Maxim Kalyayev (Russie)
Un autre jour, un autre Russe premier sur la liste. Tout comme Vladislav Sukhachyov vendredi, Kalyayev n’a pas eu à faire des miracles – ses joueurs en défensive ont bloqué d’innombrables tirs, ce qui l’a aidé –, mais il a veillé au grain lorsqu’il le fallait, tenant la meilleure offensive du tournoi à l’écart de la feuille de pointage pendant plus de 58 minutes et aidant la Russie à remporter sa troisième médaille d’or.

2. Alexander Yakovenko (Russie)
Le choix n’était pas très vaste parmi les Russes qui n’ont réussi que 16 tirs au but – sept au cours des 40 dernières minutes de jeu et seulement un en troisième période. Mais le tir foudroyant de Yakovenko du haut de la zone privilégiée au début de la deuxième période a fourni à la Russie toute l’offensive dont elle allait avoir besoin; le but du défenseur qui a porté la marque à 2-0 s’est avéré le but gagnant et le but gagnant de la médaille d’or.

3. William Fällström (Suède)
Tout comme les Russes, les Suédois sont parvenus à faire plus avec moins, marquant trois fois en seulement 18 tirs. Et Fällström, le capitaine de la Suède, a inscrit celui qui a fait la différence en décochant un tir sur réception lors d’une échappée à trois contre un alors qu’il restait sept minutes à jouer en deuxième période; l’éventuel but gagnant a aidé la Suède à vaincre la Finlande et à remporter sa troisième médaille en six ans chez les moins de 17 ans.


VENDREDI 7 NOVEMBRE 2014

1. Vladislav Sukhachyov (Russie)
Les Russes ont explosé à l’offensive dans leur victoire de 6-1 sur la Finlande en demi-finale, mais cela ne veut pas dire que Sukhachyov n’a pas joué un rôle important dans le match. Le gardien de but a réussi 30 arrêts – la Russie a été devancée 31-28 au chapitre des tirs du but – dont plus d’un tout à fait incroyable, surtout lorsque les Finlandais ont augmenté la pression dans l’espoir de réduire l’avance de deux buts des Russes à la fin de la première période.  

2. Clayton Keller (États-Unis)
Keller a réussi un troisième match d’au moins trois points au tournoi, tous des mentions d’aide, mais surtout, il a aidé les Américains à accéder, encore une fois, au match pour la médaille d’or. Les trois mentions d’aide de Keller le placent au premier rang des pointeurs du tournoi avec 13 points. Il est l’un de seulement quatre joueurs (avec Jones, Khodorenko et Nylander) à obtenir au moins un point à chacun des cinq matchs jusqu’à présent.

3. Félix Lauzon (Canada Noirs)/Brett Howden (Canada Blancs)
Les deux Canadiens ont joué le rôle de héros en prolongation à Lambton Shores vendredi, marquant tous les deux un but gagnant en prolongation pour aider leur équipe à terminer le tournoi avec une victoire. Lauzon a été le premier, marquant à la 97e seconde pour aider les Noirs à s’emparer de la septième place, puis, quelques heures plus tard, Howden a permis aux Blancs de vaincre les Rouges et de terminer cinquièmes.


JEUDI 6 NOVEMBRE 2014

1. Filip Gustavsson (Suède)
Les tirs sont venus rapidement et souvent, mais Gustavsson les a repoussés coup sur coup. Le gardien de but suédois a bloqué les 35 tirs dirigés vers lui pour blanchir Canada Blancs et permettre à la Suède de se qualifier pour les demi-finales où elle se mesurera aux États-Unis. Gustavsson, qui n’a accordé aucun but en presque 166 minutes devant le filet, a été au sommet de son art en troisième période, effectuant 16 arrêts.

2. Dmitry Sokolov (Russie)
Sokolov a sans contredit été le meilleur Russe sur la glace à Sarnia et Lambton Shores et il l’a prouvé encore jeudi en menant, presque à lui seul, la Russie à la victoire contre Canada Rouges et à une place en demi-finales. Alors que le match était à égalité 1-1 en troisième période, Sokolov a marqué deux buts à moins de trois minutes d’intervalle avant d’ajouter une aide pour faire bonne mesure.

3. Kristian Vesalainen (Finlande)
Les Finlandais ont été l’une des grandes surprises du Défi mondial de hockey des moins de 17 ans, et Vesalainen s’est assuré que le succès inattendu des Scandinaves allait se poursuivre pour au moins une autre journée en marquant deux fois en première période pour donner aux siens une avance qu’ils n’allaient pas laisser filer. Il a complété son tour du chapeau vers la fin du deuxième tiers pour aider la Finlande à accéder aux demi-finales pour la première fois depuis 1995.

 


MARDI 4 NOVEMBRE 2014

1. Clayton Keller (États-Unis)
Keller fait partie des 3 Étoiles du jour pour une deuxième journée de suite, gravissant deux échelons après sa deuxième performance consécutive de quatre points. Le meilleur pointeur du tournoi (6-3–9 en trois matchs), a accumulé un but et une aide en première période au cours de laquelle les Américains ont fait mouche quatre fois, il a marqué tôt en deuxième, et a complété son tour du chapeau en fin de troisième pour aider les États-Unis à s’emparer du premier rang du groupe B.

2. Alexander Nylander (Suède)
Fils de Michael, ancien jour de la LNH, et frère de William, choix de première ronde des Maples Leafs de Toronto, Alexander Nylander est en train de se forger un nom dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario. Il a accumulé un but et deux mentions d’aide dans la victoire à sens unique de 7-0 des Suédois sur les Slovaques. Il occupe présentement le cinquième rang des pointeurs du tournoi à l’issue de la ronde préliminaire avec un but et quatre aides.   

3. Stuart Skinner (Canada Noirs)
Équipe Canada Noirs a enfin porté une victoire à sa fiche et c’est en grande partie dû au travail de son gardien de but. Skinner n’a pas eu à être spectaculaire contre la Finlande, mais il a livré une performance solide. Le jeune homme originaire d’Edmonton, Alb., a réussi 23 arrêts, dont 13 en deuxième période, alors qu’il a été très sollicité pendant que la marque était égale 1-1, et il a aidé les siens à freiner une remontée des Finlandais en fin de match.


LUNDI 3 NOVEMBRE 2014

1. Nicolas Hague (Canada Blancs)
Il ne sera jamais comparé à Paul Coffey ou à Bobby Orr en zone offensive, mais Hague a réussi quelque chose que ni l’un ni l’autre de ces deux membres du Temple de la renommée du hockey n’ont réussi – il a marqué un but gagnant en prolongation pour Équipe Canada. Cet imposant défenseur a permis à Canada Blancs de battre Canada Noirs lundi soir et ainsi de remporter un premier match au tournoi lorsqu’il a décoché un tir de la pointe qui a heurté le poteau avant de pénétrer dans le but alors qu’il restait un peu plus d’une minute à jouer en prolongation.

2. Aapeli Räsänen (Finlande)
Le capitaine finlandais a aidé les siens à éviter un effondrement total en marquant le seul but des tirs de barrage pour mener la Finlande à la victoire sur la Russie et lui permettre de conserver sa place au sommet du groupe A. Räsänen a aussi obtenu deux mentions d’aide en temps règlementaire pour les Finlandais qui menaient 4-0 alors qu’il restait moins de 13 minutes à jouer avant qu’une remontée spectaculaire des Américains ne force la tenue de la prolongation.

3. Clayton Keller (États-Unis)
Keller était partout sur la patinoire pour les Américains dans leur victoire sur la Slovaquie, accumulant deux aides en première période, un but en deuxième et un autre en troisième pour permettre aux siens de marquer le plus grand nombre de buts par une équipe en un match au tournoi cette année et de demeurer invaincus. Après deux matchs, le jeune homme originaire de Swansea, Illinois, se retrouve au premier rang des pointeurs du tournoi, à égalité avec son coéquipier Nick Pastujov.


DIMANCHE 2 NOVEMBRE 2014

1. Nick Pastujov (États-Unis)
Alors que les États-Unis et la Suède étaient à égalité 3-3 vers la fin de la deuxième période, Pastujov s’est illustré offensivement, obtenant la deuxième aide sur le but de Patrick Khodorenko qui a donné l’avance aux siens, obtenant la première aide sur le but d’assurance de Clayton Keller au début du troisième tiers et marquant dans un filet désert au cours de la dernière minute du match pour aider les Américains à entreprendre la défense de leur médaille d’or avec une victoire.

2. Logan Stanley (Canada Rouges)
Jusqu’à présent, Stanley n’a aucun point en 10 matchs avec les Spitfires de Windsor de l’OHL cette saison, mais le défenseur de 6 pieds 6 pouces a compté deux buts dimanche soir, le premier d’un tir par-dessus la mitaine en première période et le deuxième d’un tir bas entre les jambières du gardien en troisième, aidant ainsi les Rouges à écraser la Slovaquie et à inscrire la seule victoire d’une équipe canadienne au premier jour du tournoi.  

3. Leevi Laakso (Finlande)
Le gardien de but finlandais a été la principale raison pour laquelle son équipe a pu inscrire un rare gain en ronde préliminaire dimanche, repoussant 27 de 28 tirs pour aider les Scandinaves à vaincre Canada Blancs et gâter le premier match de tous les temps par une équipe nationale canadienne des moins de 17 ans. Laakso a été brillant, surtout en troisième période, effectuant 12 arrêts pour sceller seulement la troisième victoire en ronde préliminaire des siens en 13 tentatives depuis 2010.

Vidéos
Photos
Marqueurs
Gardiens de but
R Joueur Buts A PTS
1. Clayton Keller 6 7 13
2. Max Jones 7 4 11
3. Vitali Abramov 3 6 9
3. Dmitri Sokolov 6 3 9
4. Nick Pastujov 3 5 8
5. Alexander Nylander 2 5 7
5. Chad Krys 0 7 7
6. Kailer Yamamoto 3 3 6
6. Otto Somppi 3 3 6
6. Patrick Khodorenko 1 5 6
R Joueur MOY %ARR
1. Jake Oettinger 1,34 ,934
2. Filip Gustavsson 1,61 ,942
3. Vladislav Sukhachyov 1,70 ,931
4. Maxim Kalyayev 2,28 ,922
5. Joseph Woll 2,33 ,905
6. Evan Fitzpatrick 2,43 ,909
7. Ryan Kubic 2,84 ,882
8. Samuel Harvey 3,00 ,886
9. Leevi Laakso 3,06 ,873
10. Kimmo Rautiainen 3,28 ,854
Close
Credit  
Résultats
Classement
dim. 2 nov.
5
1
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
6
3
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
5
1
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
6
0
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
lun. 3 nov.
5
4
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
1
7
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
5
4
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
2
4
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
mar. 4 nov.
7
0
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
4
3
Final
Sarnia Arena, Sarnia, Ont.
2
4
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
7
3
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
jeu. 6 nov.
1
4
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
1
5
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
4
1
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
2
0
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
ven. 7 nov.
2
3
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
1
4
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
3
2
Final
The Shores Recreation Centre, Lambton Shores, Ont.
6
1
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
sam. 8 nov.
3
1
Final
RBC Centre, Sarnia, Ont.
2
1
Final
RBC Centre
Group A
Équipe PJ V D VProl. DProl. PTS
RUS (RUS) 6 4 1 0 1 13
FIN (FIN) 6 2 3 1 0 8
WHT (WHT) 5 1 2 2 0 7
BLK (BLK) 5 1 2 1 1 6
Group B
Équipe PJ V D VProl. DProl. PTS
USA (USA) 6 5 1 0 0 15
SWE (SWE) 6 3 3 0 0 9
RED (RED) 5 2 2 0 1 7
SVK (SVK) 5 0 4 0 1 1
Nouvelles récentes
Les plus populaires