Hockey<br>Program

Novice Game Play Officiating Guidelines – Role of the Official

Special thanks to bc hockey for sharing its officiating guidelines

NOTE: SEE GAME PLAY GUIDELINES FOR GAME-SPECIFIC RULES

Introduction

Hockey Canada recommends the inclusion of officials at the Novice level. At this level a one-official system will be employed. While this is not an official Hockey Canada Officiating Program (HCOP) system, this section provides an outline to assist local officiating programs with integrating officials into this developmental stage of the game. The system provides officials with an opportunity to experience several aspects of officiating, while keeping the operating costs at a manageable level for the teams and minor hockey associations.

Benefits of Involving Officials in Half-Ice Hockey

There are numerous benefits for officials when considering the aspects of building foundational skills. This is a valuable opportunity for newer officials to put on their uniform, get on the ice in live action and learn basic aspects of being an official in a less formal and positive atmosphere. Basic skills include dropping pucks, skating skills, foundational positioning, spatial awareness, establishing good sightlines and making decisions such as goals and minor infractions.

This allows officials to apply newly-acquired information they received in their clinic in a game environment. It also provides an excellent opportunity for senior officials to mentor newcomers by shadowing them on the ice or evaluating them from the stands. The ability to mentor officials at ice level in this structure provides instantaneous feedback and assists in preparing these officials for full-ice games in a two- or three-official system.

Having an official for the half-ice games provides players with more structure than cross-ice games at the Initiation level. It also presents a more realistic game environment, while allowing the coaches to keep their focus on the players. 

Officiating Procedures

Flexibility is an important component to operating in a one-official system within the Novice structure. There is no absolute way to handle every possible scenario. However, game flow and establishing a basic structure to the game is the primary focus. Officials will NOT be required to call infractions for icing or off-side as the appropriate rink dimensions and markings are not available.

Face-offs

There will be one face-off location. This will be located approximately halfway between the goals (see Figure 5). Coaches and arena staff may mark the centre face-off location with a temporary marking for game play purposes.

 

Positioning

Foundational positioning principles will be used. The concept of the ‘cone’ should be reserved for when full-ice play begins. Under the half-ice structure, approximate positioning should be used to get officials comfortable with their proximity to the goal (see Figure 6). Officials should follow the play approximately 2-3 metres behind the puck carrier. They should remain about one metre from the boards or playing area perimeters. The examples on Figure 6 show guidelines for establishing recommended end-zone positions.

Officials are encouraged to move towards the net on goal situations and away from the play towards the boards as play comes towards them, allowing players to pass by; the official can then follow up the ice at a safe distance.

 

Note:

The Hockey Canada mandate for half-ice novice hockey games takes effect for 2019-20 season.

Members may choose to implement half-ice hockey sooner.

Videos
Recent News
Most Popular

 

Help and Feedback

  • Questions about Novice half-ice games?
  • Having trouble finding specific information?
  • Want to give you general feedback?

 

CLICK HERE to let your voice be heard.

Programme<br>de hockey

Lignes directrices pour l’arbitrage des matchs de la catégorie novice – Rôle de l'officiel

Nous tenons à remercier spécialement Hockey C.-B., qui a fourni ces lignes directrices sur l'arbitrage

REMARQUE : VOIR LES LIGNES DIRECTRICES POUR LES MATCHS POUR CONSULTER LES RÈGLES PROPRES AU JEU

Introduction

Hockey Canada recommande l'emploi d'officiels pour la catégorie novice. Pour cette catégorie, un système à un officiel sera utilisé. Cette section ne constitue pas un système officiel du Programme des officiels de Hockey Canada (POHC), mais elle fournit les grandes lignes pour aider les programmes des officiels locaux à intégrer les officiels à ce stade de développement du hockey. Le système à un officiel permet aux officiels de gérer différents aspects de l'arbitrage, tout en gardant les frais d'exploitation à un niveau raisonnable pour les équipes et les associations de hockey mineur.

Avantages de l'intégration des officiels au hockey sur une demi-glace

Il existe de nombreux avantages pour les officiels sur le plan du développement des habiletés de base. Il s'agit d'une belle occasion pour les officiels débutants de revêtir leur uniforme, d'être sur la glace en situation de match et d'apprendre les éléments de base de l'arbitrage dans un contexte informel et positif. Les habiletés de base sont notamment les mises au jeu, les habiletés de patinage, le positionnement de base, la perception spatiale, l'établissement de bonnes lignes de visibilité et la prise de décisions, par exemple dans le cas de buts ou d'infractions mineures.

 

Les officiels peuvent ainsi mettre en pratique les connaissances nouvellement acquises pendant leur stage dans des situations de match. Ce format donne aussi une excellente occasion aux officiels expérimentés d'agir à titre de mentors pour les nouveaux venus en les suivant sur la patinoire ou en les évaluant depuis les gradins. La possibilité de mentorer les officiels sur la glace dans cette structure permet à ces derniers de profiter de rétroactions instantanées et de se préparer à des matchs sur une pleine glace au sein d'un système deux ou à trois officiels.

La présence d'un officiel pendant les matchs sur une demi-glace permet un meilleur encadrement des joueurs que dans le cas de matchs sur la largeur de la patinoire de la catégorie initiation. Cette présence offre aussi un environnement de match plus réaliste, tout en permettant aux entraîneurs de se concentrer sur les joueurs.

Procédures pour l'arbitrage

La flexibilité est un aspect important de l'application d'un système à un officiel dans la structure du hockey novice. Il n'y a pas de façon définitive de gérer tous les scénarios possibles. Toutefois, le déroulement du match et l'établissement d'une structure de base sont les objectifs principaux. Les officiels NE SONT PAS tenus de signaler des infractions pour un dégagement refusé ou un hors-jeu, en raison des dimensions particulières de la surface de jeu et de l'absence des marques adéquates sur la glace.

Mises au jeu

Un seul point de mise au jeu est requis. Il doit se trouver environ à mi-chemin entre les filets (voir la figure 5). Les entraîneurs et le personnel de l’aréna peuvent indiquer ce point de mise au jeu central de façon temporaire aux fins des matchs.

 

Positionnement

Les principes de positionnement de base seront appliqués. Il est préférable d'attendre la tenue de matchs sur une pleine glace pour appliquer la notion de zone du cône. Dans le cadre de matchs sur une demi-glace, les officiels doivent utiliser un positionnement approximatif pour s'habituer à la proximité au filet (voir la figure 6). Les officiels doivent suivre le jeu à une distance de deux à trois mètres environ derrière le porteur de la rondelle. Ils doivent conserver une distance d'un mètre environ entre leur position et les bandes ou le périmètre de la surface de jeu. Les exemples dans la figure 6 illustrent les lignes directrices pour déterminer le positionnement recommandé aux extrémités.

Les officiels sont encouragés à s'approcher du filet en situation de but potentiel et à s'éloigner du jeu en allant vers la bande lorsque le jeu se dirige vers eux pour permettre aux joueurs de circuler. Ils peuvent ensuite suivre le jeu depuis l'arrière en conservant une distance sécuritaire.

 

Remarque :

Le mandat de Hockey Canada visant les matchs sur une demi-glace au hockey novice entre en vigueur à la saison 2019-2020.

Vidéos
Nouvelles récentes
Les plus populaires