jan18 cankor
Puck drops on the 2016 World Sledge Hockey Challenge Sunday afternoon
Canada’s National Sledge Team faces Norway to open tournament
NR.110.16
|
December 2, 2016
|

CHARLOTTETOWN, P.E.I. – The 10th edition of the World Sledge Hockey Challenge kicks off Sunday afternoon in P.E.I., as the City of Charlottetown hosts the event for the third time in tournament history.

Canada’s National Sledge Team, the silver-medallist from January’s World Sledge Hockey Challenge in Bridgewater, N.S., opens the tournament at 4 p.m. ET/5 p.m. AT against Norway, which is making a return trip to the event for the first time since 2012. Canada is a five-time gold-medal winner, having captured wins in 2013, Nov. 2011, April 2011, 2008, and 2007. The tournament kicks off Sunday with the defending gold-medallists from the United States playing Korea at 11 a.m. ET/12 p.m. AT.

“We are excited to have the top teams in the world back in Charlottetown to compete for the gold medal,” said Brodie O’Keefe, host-committee chair for the World Sledge Hockey Challenge. “We encourage all Islanders to take advantage of this unique opportunity to experience edge-of-your-seat action from the best players in the world live at the MacLauchlan Arena.”

Full-event ticket packages, which include six preliminary-round games, two semifinals, and the bronze- and gold-medal games, are available for just $50. Preliminary-round and medal-round day passes will be available for purchase on-site starting Dec. 4. A special ticket package is also available for minor hockey teams.

All preliminary-round games, semifinals, and the bronze-medal game will be streamed live online at www.hockeycanada.ca/WSHC, while TSN and RDS, Hockey Canada’s official broadcast partners, will broadcast the gold-medal game Saturday, Dec. 10 at 3 p.m. ET/4 p.m. AT (tape delayed on RDS on Dec. 13 at 7 p.m. ET); check local listings for details.

For more information on the Hockey Canada and Canada’s sledge hockey programs, visit HockeyCanada.ca and follow along via social media at Facebook and Twitter.

For more information:

Vacant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4557 

 

Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
[email protected]

 

Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)
[email protected]

 

Katie Macleod
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-612-2893 (mobile)
[email protected]

 

Videos
Photos
2019 MWC: CAN 3 – SUI 2 OT (Quarter-final)
Severson tied it late and Stone scored in OT to give Canada the win.
2019 MWC: CAN 3 – USA 0 (Preliminary)
Murray stopped 28 shots to backstop Canada to top spot in Group A.
2019 MWC: CAN 5 – DEN 0 (Preliminary)
Reinhart scored 2G and Marchessault had 1G 1A in another Canadian win.
2019 NJAC: BRO 4 – PG 3 (Championship)
Boyko scored twice to lead the Bandits to their second national title.
Schedule
Close
Credit