lauren williams cwhl draft feature
Onto the next chapter
For the sixth time in eight years, a National Women’s Under-18 Championship alumna went first overall in the CWHL Draft
Jason La Rose
August 28, 2018

National Women’s Under-18 Championship alumnae starred at the 2018 CWHL Draft, with each of the six first-round picks – and eight of top 10 selections – representing their province at the tournament.

No. 1 pick Lauren Williams led the way; the newest member of the Worcester Blades won gold with Ontario Blue at the 2012 U18 nationals in Dawson Creek, B.C., before settling for silver a year later in Calgary, Alta.

The Windsor, Ont., native follows Kayla Tutino (Quebec, 2008/2009), Jessica Wong (Atlantic, 2007/2008), Laura Fortino (Ontario Red, 2007/2008), Sarah Edney (Ontario Blue, 2009) and Meghan Agosta (Ontario Red, J2005) as alumnae taken with the first pick since the league’s inaugural draft in 2010.

Overall, 23 of the 67 players chosen once played in the national championship, an annual showcase of the future of women’s hockey in the country.

The Toronto Furies added the most U18 alumnae to their roster, taking seven. They were followed by the Calgary Inferno (five), Markham Thunder (four), Shenzhen KRS Vanke Rays (three), Canadiennes de Montréal (two) and Worcester (two).

Among the 23 alumnae were two individual award winners. Halli Krzyzaniak (2012) took home Most Valuable Player and Top Defenceman honours in 2012, while Rebecca Leslie was named MVP the following year.

Collectively, the players have won 21 medals: 10 gold, seven silver and four bronze.

National Women’s Under-18 Championship alumnae selected in the 2016 CWHL Draft included:

1st Round
1. Worcester – Lauren Williams (Ontario Blue, 2012/2013)
2. Toronto – Sarah Nurse (Ontario Red, 2011/2012)
3. Markham – Victoria Bach (Ontario Red, 2012/2013)
4. Calgary – Halli Krzyzaniak (Manitoba, 2011/2012)
5. Shenzhen – Kimberly Newell (British Columbia, 2011)
6. Toronto – Shea Tiley (Ontario Blue, 2011)

2nd Round
9. Markham – Ailish Forfar (Ontario Red 2011)
10. Calgary – Rebecca Leslie (Ontario Blue, 2012; Ontario Red, 2013)
11. Shenzhen – Leah Lum (British Columbia (2012/2013)
12. Montreal – Geneviève Bannon (Quebec, 2011/2012)

3rd Round
14. Toronto – Mellissa Channell (Ontario Red, 2011)
15. Shenzhen – Hannah Miller (British Columbia (2011/2012/2013)
16. Markham – Megan Sullivan (Ontario Blue, 2013)
17. Calgary – Annie Bélanger (Quebec, 2011)

4th Round
20. Toronto – Emma Greco (Ontario Red, 2012)
21. Markham – Daniella Matteucci (British Columbia, 2009)

5th Round
25. Toronto – Mackenzie MacNeil (Ontario Blue, 2012; Ontario Red, 2013)
28. Montreal – Catherine Daoust (Quebec, 2011/2012)

6th Round
29. Worcester – Jennifer MacAskill (Atlantic, 2011/2012/2013)
30. Toronto – Megan Quinn (Ontario Red, 2013)

7th Round
35. Toronto – Alysha Burriss (Ontario Blue, 2013)
37. Calgary – Kaitlin Willoughby (Saskatchewan, 2011/2012)

8th Round
42. Calgary – Eden Murray (Alberta, 2011/2012)

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]


Katie Macleod
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-284-6427
Mobile: 403-612-2893
[email protected]


2019 NPT Camp: WHT 5 – JPN 0 (Game 5)
Dunn lit the lamp three times to net White a victory over Japan.
2019 NPT Camp: RED 5 – JPN 0 (Game 4)
Sorley and Culmone netted two goals apiece to lead Red to the victory.
2019 NPT Camp: RED 1 – WHT 0 (Game 3)
Culmone scored and Larocque made 14 saves to help Red blank White.
2019 NPT Camp: WHT 15 – JPN 0 (Game 2)
McGregor drove his team to the win column with a six-point outing.