2022 board nominations

Hockey Canada Members elect new Board of Directors

Jonathan Goldbloom named chair of the board following vote by elected directors

November 18, 2023

MONTREAL, Quebec – Hockey Canada’s 13 Members have elected the organization’s new volunteer board of directors, following a vote at the 2023 Hockey Canada Annual Meeting in Montreal.

Incoming directors Gillian Apps, Amanda Fowler, Corey Hirsch, Kristi Miller, Krista Outhwaite and Geoffrey Wong will be joined by Grant Borbridge, Jonathan Goldbloom and Marian Jacko, who were re-elected after serving on the organization’s transition board of directors.

The board appointed Goldbloom as its chair, and he will serve in the role for a three-year term. Goldbloom, a resident of Montreal, was a member of the executive committee for the inaugural Beyond the Boards Summit and led Hockey Canada’s recent president and chief executive officer search committee.

“I am very proud of the meaningful progress that our transition board of directors made in leadership renewal, sport safety, good governance and financial transparency and accountability for Hockey Canada,” said Goldbloom. “We have a strong foundation to build upon and I am eager to work with my new colleagues and Hockey Canada’s leadership team to continue to advance the sport that we love as Canadians.”

Borbridge and Outhwaite will also serve three-year terms, while Jacko, Miller and Wong were elected to two-year terms and Apps, Fowler and Hirsch to one-year terms.

Biographies for each director can be accessed here.

As part of the new by-law changes that were unanimously approved at a Special Members’ Meeting in June 2023 to align with the recommendations in the independent governance review led by the Hon. Thomas Cromwell, C.C., the chair of the board was appointed by the elected directors, rather than the previous practice of being elected by the Members.

“We welcome Jonathan as the new chair of the Hockey Canada Board of Directors and look forward to continuing to work with him to ensure hockey in our country embodies safety, excellence and sport for all,” said Katherine Henderson, president and chief executive officer of Hockey Canada. “The work that the outgoing board, led by the Hon. Hugh L. Fraser, accomplished during its 11 months was significant and we are grateful to each of the directors for their important contributions.

“To Hugh, Cassie Campbell-Pascall, Julie Duranceau, David Evans, Marni Fullerton and Andrea Poole, thank you for your incredible efforts to benefit our organization, which will continue to benefit hockey fans and participants.”

To learn more about Hockey Canada, please visit HockeyCanada.ca, or follow along through social media on FacebookX and Instagram.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

[email protected] 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

[email protected]

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

[email protected]

2023 U18 Nationals: Saturday, November 11 (Medal Games)
Ontario Red won a 13th U18 Nationals gold in Dawson Creek
2023 U18 Nationals: Friday, November 10 (Semifinals & Placement)
Ontario Red and Quebec will play for U18 Nationals gold in Dawson Creek.
2023 U18 Nationals: Thursday, November 9 (Quarterfinals)
Alberta, B.C., Ontario Red and Quebec advanced to the semifinals in Dawson Creek.
2023 U18 Nationals: Tuesday, November 7 (Preliminary)
Ontario Red and Quebec finish the preliminary round undefeated in Dawson Creek.