2022 esso cup may 20 pac ont 960

Esso Cup Recap: Friday, May 20

Notre Dame, Durham West and Northern all picked up wins on Friday, the final day of preliminary-round action.

May 20, 2022
|

Durham West Lightning 5, Fraser Valley Rush 2

Notre Dame Hounds 4, Remparts du Richelieu 2

Northern Selects 2, Prince Albert Bears 0

Next games - Saturday, May 21: 

  • Semifinal 1: Notre Dame Hounds vs. Fraser Valley Rush (11:30 a.m. ET/8:30 a.m. PT) 
  • Semifinal 2: Northern Selects vs. Durham West Lightning (3 p.m. ET/12 p.m. PT) 

TSN and RDS, the official broadcast partners of Hockey Canada, will broadcast the championship game on May 22; (5:30 p.m. ET/2:30 p.m. PT). Both semifinals will be livestreamed at HockeyCanada.ca/EssoCup.

Quotes: 

“We’re ready for the pressure this weekend. We’ve talked all week about how we want to play for the title and be on TSN for our family and friends. There is work to be done and we can’t change our routine. What we’re doing has worked to get us here, and we want to keep it going.”

- Jessica Pellerin (Durham West Lightning) on the pressure of the playoff round

“Our goal was to get to this position, and we are feeling good right now. Every team is tired, but we have been here before and we know what we have to do to be ready for tomorrow.”

- Ellie Gauvin (Notre Dame Hounds) on heading into the playoffs with the right mindset 

“This one feels good because we have worked so hard for this opportunity. We don’t want to get too high as we know there is still work to be done. We’re facing the number-one team and know that it’s not going to be easy; we’re ready for the challenge and I’m excited to go through it with these girls.”

- Jorja Burrows (Northern Selects) on clinching a berth in the final four, just the second Atlantic team to ever do so

For more information on the 2022 Esso Cup, please visit HockeyCanada.ca or follow along  via social media on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
514-895-9706
[email protected]

 

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
[email protected]

 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]

 

Recent News
Most Popular
Videos
Photos
WU18: CAN 2 – FIN 0 (Preliminary)
Canada outshot Finland 40-17 but came up short in its worlds opener.
2022 Centennial Cup: May 29 (Championship)
Brooks came from behind and downed Pickering to win its third national title.
2022 MWC: FIN 4 – CAN 3 OT (Gold Medal Game)
Comtois tied the game late, but Canada finished with silver.
2022 Centennial Cup: May 28 (Semifinals)
Brooks and Pickering punched their tickets to the national championship game.
Schedule