2022 telus cup may 18 mon mag

2022 TELUS Cup Recap: Wednesday, May 18

The third day of the 2022 TELUS Cup saw the Moncton Flyers stay unbeaten, and the Sydney Rush and Notre Dame Hounds pick up their first victories of the tournament.

May 18, 2022
|

Moncton Flyers 4, Cantonniers de Magog 3

Sydney Rush 3, Vancouver NE Chiefs 2

Notre Dame Hounds 4, Mississauga Reps 1


Next games - Thursday, May 19:
 

  • Moncton Flyers vs. Vancouver NE Chiefs (12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT)
  • Mississauga Reps vs. Cantonniers de Magog (4 p.m. ET/1 p.m. PT)
  • Notre Dame Hounds vs. Sydney Rush (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)

TSN and RDS, the official broadcast partners of Hockey Canada, will broadcast the championship game on May 22; please check local listings for details. All preliminary-round games and the semifinals will be livestreamed at HockeyCanada.ca/TELUSCup.

Quotes: 

“Our goal today was to score first and establish momentum early, and when we did that, it set the tone and helped us play with confidence during the rest of the game. We are a family that is clicking right now and if we keep this going, good things will come for us as a team.”

- Luke Patterson (Moncton Flyers) on his two-goal performance that helped his team remain undefeated 

“Our compete level had to go up after we lost our first two games, and the players put in a gutsy performance to accomplish that today. We have success as a team when we play hard and stick to our structure and we will have to keep that up to advance to the semifinals. It was an emotional win for us, and it was nice for our players and Cape Breton, but we will turn our attention to tomorrow’s game.”

- Sydney head coach Troy Chiasson on his team’s first win 

“It was important to remind our team that no trophies were handed out during our first two games and that our focus should be on finishing the tournament strong. We played with much better habits tonight and I think that will pay off for us during the rest of the week.”

- Notre Dame head coach Del Pedrick on how his team rebounded from losing its first two games

For more information on the 2022 TELUS Cup, please visit HockeyCanada.ca or follow along via social media on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

[email protected] 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

[email protected]

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

[email protected]

Recent News
Most Popular
Videos
Photos
2022 WJC: CAN 6 – FIN 3 (Preliminary)
Zellweger set up three goals as Canada finished a perfect prelims.
2022 WJC: CAN 11 – SVK 1 (Preliminary)
McTavish had a six point game as Canada beat Slovakia on Thursday.
2022 WJC: CAN 5 – LAT 2 (Preliminary)
Bedard and Greig finished with 1G 1A apiece as Canada opened with a win.
2022 WJC: CAN 4 – SWE 3 (Pre-Tournament)
Gaucher and MacTavish scored 0:34 apart early, and Canada held on.
Schedule