2022 esso cup may 18 atl que 960

2022 Esso Cup Recap: Wednesday, May 18

Prince Albert, Durham West and Northern Selects all picked up victories on Day 3 of the 2022 Esso Cup in Okotoks, Alta.

May 18, 2022
|

Northern Selects 6, Remparts du Richelieu 2

Prince Albert Bears 6, Fraser Valley Rush 5

Durham West Lightning 4, Notre Dame Hounds 3

Next games - Thursday, May 19: 

  • Northern Selects vs. Fraser Valley Rush (12 p.m. ET/9 a.m. PT) 
  • Remparts du Richelieu vs. Durham West Lightning (3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT) 
  • Prince Albert Bears vs. Notre Dame Hounds (7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT) 

TSN and RDS, the official broadcast partners of Hockey Canada, will broadcast the championship game on May 22; please check local listings for details. All preliminary-round games and the semifinals will be livestreamed at HockeyCanada.ca/EssoCup.

Quotes: 

“We have a tired group for sure. We knew today was going to be a grind and it was. We’ve been in tight games all week and we knew we needed to elevate our game to the next level, today we did that, and it helped get us the win.”

- Sara Stewart (Northern Selects) on playing with a short bench due to injuries.  

“It doesn’t matter how we got here and now we’re in it just like everyone else. The girls in that room are hungry and we came here to win. We can’t soak this in for too long, we have to get right back to work here and finish the right way.”

- Sophia Zuck (Prince Albert Bears) on the Bears’ mindset after back-to-back victories. 

“As a group we are happy with the win tonight. This was a hard-fought, tight game and we played well. We are a confident group right now and the mood is high heading into tomorrow.”

- Zoe Ziotas (Durham West Lightning) on the confidence in the Lightning locker room.

For more information on the 2022 Esso Cup, please visit HockeyCanada.ca or follow along via social media on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
514-895-9706
[email protected]

 

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-284-6484
[email protected]

 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]

 

Recent News
Most Popular
Videos
Photos
WU18: CAN 2 – FIN 0 (Preliminary)
Canada outshot Finland 40-17 but came up short in its worlds opener.
2022 Centennial Cup: May 29 (Championship)
Brooks came from behind and downed Pickering to win its third national title.
2022 MWC: FIN 4 – CAN 3 OT (Gold Medal Game)
Comtois tied the game late, but Canada finished with silver.
2022 Centennial Cup: May 28 (Semifinals)
Brooks and Pickering punched their tickets to the national championship game.
Schedule