nov 04 onr qc

Quebec and Ontario Red renew acquaintances in National Women’s Under-18 Championship gold medal game

Rivals to meet for gold for seventh time in tournament history

November 13, 2016

REGINA, Sask. – Ontario Red will be looking for the three-peat as it faces Quebec in the gold medal game at the 2016 National Women’s Under-18 Championship. The rivals have previously met six times, with Ontario Red winning all six of their prior meetings, the most recent being in 2011.                                                    

Quebec advanced to Sunday’s gold-medal game at Evraz Place after a 3-0 shutout of Ontario Blue, while Ontario Red booked its ticket to the final with a 9-1 win over B.C.   

Ontario Red has won all nine gold-medal games it has appeared in since the tournament began in 2001. Quebec won five-straight silver medals between 2001 and 2008, taking home silver again in 2011.

TSN and RDS, Hockey Canada’s official broadcast partners, will broadcast the gold-medal game Sunday, Nov. 13 at 7 p.m. ET on TSN2; check local listings for details.

In Saturday’s placement games, Manitoba skated past Team Atlantic 6-1 for seventh place, while Alberta won the fifth-place game 6-4 over host Saskatchewan. For the second straight year, B.C. and Ontario Blue will play in the bronze-medal game at 1 p.m. ET with the game being streamed online at Day passes for the medal round can be purchased on-site at Evraz Place for $15.

The 2016 National Women’s Under-18 Championship brings together teams made up of the best female hockey players born in 1999 or later. The tournament serves as an important platform for Hockey Canada scouts, who evaluate candidates for the Canadian contingent that will compete at the 2017 IIHF U18 Women’s World Championship in the Czech Republic in January.

A number of Canadian women’s hockey stars have competed at the National Women’s Under-18 Championship, including Saskatchewan natives and Team Canada alumnae Emily Clark, Jessica Campbell and Colleen Sostorics, as well as 20 players who helped Canada’s National Women’s Team win a silver medal at the 2016 IIHF Women’s World Championship in Kamloops, B.C.:

  • Meghan Agosta (Jan. 2005 – Ontario Red)
  • Bailey Bram (2007 – Manitoba)
  • Emily Clark (2011, 2012 – Saskatchewan)
  • Sarah Davis (2007, 2008, 2009 – Atlantic)
  • Laura Fortino (2007, 2008 – Ontario Red)
  • Erica Howe (2009 – Ontario Red)
  • Brianne Jenner (Nov. 2005 – Ontario Blue; 2007, 2008 – Ontario Red)
  • Rebecca Johnston (Nov. 2005 – Ontario Red)
  • Halli Krzyzaniak (2011, 2012 – Manitoba)
  • Brigette Lacquette (2008 – Manitoba)
  • Jocelyne Larocque (Jan. 2005, Nov. 2005 – Manitoba)
  • Emerance Maschmeyer (2011 – Alberta)
  • Marie-Philip Poulin (Nov. 2005, 2007, 2008 – Quebec)
  • Jamie Lee Rattray (2007 – Ontario Blue; 2008, 2009 – Ontario Red)
  • Lauriane Rougeau (Nov. 2005, 2007 – Quebec)
  • Jillian Saulnier (2007, 2008, 2009 – Atlantic)
  • Natalie Spooner (Nov. 2005, 2007 – Ontario Red)
  • Blayre Turnbull (2009 – Atlantic)
  • Jennifer Wakefield (Jan. 2005, Nov. 2005 – Ontario Red)
  • Tara Watchorn (2007 – Ontario Red)

NOTE TO MEDIA: Esther Madziya, Hockey Canada’s coordinator of media relations, is on-site in Regina for the 2016 National Women’s Under-18 Championship. For interview requests, she can be contacted by email at [email protected] or by phone at (403) 519-5754.

For more information on the 2016 National Women’s Under-18 Championship, please visit and follow along via social media at Facebook and Twitter.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]


Recent News
Most Popular
2021 CCC: NWT - CANW (Bronze)
Canada White finished third at the Capital City Challenge.
2021 CCC: CANR - CANB (Gold)
Canada Black won the Capital City Challenge with Ritchie’s OT goal.
2021 CCC: CANW - CANR (Semifinal)
Yager netted a goal and an assist to give Canada Red a chance at the top prize.
2021 CCC: NWT - CANB (Semifinal)
Zach Benson’s overtime winner helped Canada Black reach the final.