mih aug15 canswe gold
© Andreas Robanser
Canada Golden Again
Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team wins 8th consecutive gold at 2015 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup
August 15, 2015

BRECLAV, Czech Republic – Canada is bringing home the gold after defeating Sweden 7-3 in Saturday’s gold medal game at the 2015 U18 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup in Breclav.

Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team has won the annual tournament eight consecutive years – winning 36 of 38 games over that span – and has won 20 of 25 summer tournaments since 1991.

On Saturday, Canada scored early and often in the first period. Pierre-Luc Dubois (Rimouski, Que./Cape Breton, QMJHL) scored twice, and Michael McLeod (Mississauga, Ont./Mississauga, OHL) and Tyler Benson (Edmonton, Alta./Vancouver, WHL) added one each, helping Canada to a 4-0 lead after 20 minutes. Canada added two more goal in the second period and one goal in the third. Goaltender Dylan Wells (St. Catharines, Ont./Peterborough, OHL) earned the victory for Canada.

Canada finished a perfect 5-0 in the tournament, outscoring its opposition 23-7.

Canada’s roster was made up of 13 forwards, seven defencemen and two goaltenders, and included six players from the Ontario Hockey League, 12 from the Western Hockey League, two from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League and two players from the British Columbia Hockey League.


Players and staff will return to Canada on Sunday, Aug. 16. See below for specific flight itineraries for Canada’s players. Information is listed alphabetically by final destination. Arrival times are all listed as local time. Flight information may change without notice.

Calgary, Alta. / AC845 / 3:10 p.m.
Jake Bean, Dillon Dubé

Edmonton, Alta. / AC845/ 6:28 p.m.
Sam Steel

Edmonton, Alta. / AC8165 6:37 p.m.
Tyson Jost

Edmonton, Alta. / AC177 6:37 p.m.
Tyler Benson, Kale Clauge, Carter Hart, Josh Mahura, David Quenneville,

Kelowna, B.C.. / AC8165/ 6:37 p.m.
Dante Fabbro

Montreal, Que. / AC418 / 5:13 p.m.
Pierre-Luc Dubois, Samuel Girard

Ottawa, Ont. / AC458 / 5:13 p.m.
Will Bitten, Zach Poirier

Toronto, Ont. / AC6167 / 2:10 p.m.
Jordan Kyrou, Michael McLeod, Victor Mette, Dylan Wells

Vancouver, B.C. / AC161/ 6:07 p.m.
Beck Malenstyn

Winnipeg, Man. / AC267/ 6:04 p.m.
Brett Howden, Tanner Kaspick, Nolan Patrick

NOTE TO MEDIA: All media inquiries after the 2015 U18 Ivan Hlinka Memorial Cup can be directed to player’s respective team in the Canadian Hockey League or in the British Columbia Hockey League.

For more information on Hockey Canada and Canada’s National Men’s Summer Under-18 Team, please visit www.hockeycanada.ca, or follow along through social media at www.facebook.com/hockeycanada, www.twitter.com/hockeycanada and www.twitter.com/hc_men.

For more information:

Director, Communications
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)
[email protected]


Katie Macleod
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-612-2893 (mobile)
[email protected]


2019 Esso Cup: HFX 6 – QUE 4 (Preliminary)
Gray had a hat trick to help the Fire to a come-from-behind win.
2019 TELUS Cup: MAG 3 – HFX 1 (Preliminary)
The Cantonniers used a pair of power-play goals to down the Macs.
2019 U18WC: CAN 6 – CZE 2 (Preliminary)
Six players scored to help Canada come from behind and top Group A.
2019 Esso Cup: SAS 3 – STA 2 (Preliminary)
Helperl came through late to give the Stars a win over the Slash.