2014 15 goalie camp
Thirty-four goaltenders invited to ninth annual Hockey Canada Program of Excellence goaltending camp
June 9, 2014

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Hockey League, announced Monday the 34 goaltenders that will attend the ninth annual Program of Excellence goaltending camp, taking place June 11-14 at the Markin MacPhail Centre at Canada Olympic Park in Calgary.

Ten goaltenders in the under-20 age category (candidates for Canada’s National Junior Team), eight in the under-18 category (candidates for Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team) and 16 under-17 goaltenders (candidates for the World Under-17 Hockey Challenge) will get the opportunity to work with a number of instructors during the four-day camp.  


UNDER-20 GOALTENDERS (1995-1996)
Eric Comrie  Edmonton, Alta. Tri-City (WHL)
Philippe Desrosiers  Saint-Hyacinthe, Que. Rimouski (QMJHL)
Zachary Fucale Laval, Que.  Halifax (QMJHL)
Tristan Jarry Delta, B.C.  Edmonton (WHL)
Julio Billia St. Léonard, Que.  Chicoutimi (QMJHL)
Mackenzie Blackwood Thunder Bay, Ont.  Barrie (OHL)
Alec Dillon  Victoria, B.C. Victoria (BCHL)
Ty Edmonds Winnipeg, Man. Prince George (WHL)
Mason McDonald Halifax, N.S. Charlottetown (QMJHL)
Brent Moran  Orleans, Ont. Niagara (OHL)
Ben Blacker Oakville, Ont. Milton (OJHL)
Callum Booth  Montreal, Que.  Quebec (QMJHL)
Zach Bowman St. Catharines, Ont. Plymouth (OHL)
Nick McBride Maple Ridge, B.C.  Prince Albert (WHL)
Michael McNiven Georgetown, Ont. Georgetown (OJHL)
Zachary Sawchenko Calgary, Alta. Moose Jaw (WHL)
Troy Timpano Pickering, Ont. Sudbury (OHL)
Olivier Tremblay Chicoutimi, Que. Rimouski (QMJHL)
Stephen Dhillon Buffalo, N.Y. Buffalo (OMHA)
Evan Fitzpatrick Lower Sackville, N.S. Newbridge Academy (NSMMHL)
Mark Grametbauer  Halifax, N.S. Cole Harbour (NSMMHL)
Samuel Harvey Alma, Que. Jonquière (LHMAAAQ)
Ryan Kubic Winnipeg, Man. Winnipeg Thrashers (MMAAAHL)
Jack Lafontaine Mississauga, Ont. Don Mills (GTHL)
Olivier Lafrenière Bradford, Ont. York Simcoe (OMHA)
Jake Lawr Mono, Ont. Halton (OMHA)
Austin McGrath Lloydminster, Alta. Lloydminster (AMHL)
Reilly Pickard Halifax, N.S. Halifax (NSMMHL)
Joseph Raaymakers Chatham, Ont. Chatham-Kent (MHAO)
Stuart Skinner Edmonton, Alta. Edmonton SSAC (AMHL)
Daniel Toews Chase, B.C. Thompson (BCMML)
Tyler Wall  Leamington, Ont. Sun County (MHAO)
Dylan Wells St. Catharines, Ont. Niagara (OMHA)
Brody Willms Coquitlam, B.C.  Okanagan Hockey Academy (CSSHL)

“There is tremendous goaltending talent in Canada, and we’re excited to bring Canada’s best young netminders to Calgary to work with some of the top instructors in the game,” said Scott Salmond, Hockey Canada’s senior director of hockey operations/national teams. “This camp is a fantastic opportunity for these goaltenders to prepare for international competition.”

The camp will include both on-ice and off-ice sessions for all three groups. The U18 and U20 netminders will be led by Fred Brathwaite (Hockey Canada) and Sean Burke (Hockey Canada), along with instructors Lyle Mast (Tri-City, WHL), Eric Raymond (Halifax, QMJHL), Michael Rioux (Rimouski, QMJHL), Dustin Schwartz (Edmonton, WHL) and Jimmy Waite (Sherbrooke, QMJHL).

Five members of the Hockey Canada goaltending advisory board will also work with the U18 and U20 groups: Corey Hirsch (Hockey Canada), Bill Ranford (Los Angeles, NHL), Brady Robinson (Victoria, WHL), Dwayne Roloson (Anaheim, NHL) and Rick Wamsley (Ottawa, NHL).

David Marcoux (Hockey Canada) will lead the U17 program on the ice, with assistance from coaches Ian Gordon (Seattle, WHL), and Andrew Verner (Peterborough, OHL).

Hockey Canada will also host 11 goaltending coaches nominated by their respective branches to take part in the on-ice and off-ice programming with the U17 goaltenders. In addition to the U17 camp activities, the 11 instructors will also be participating in a seminar aimed at providing them with the resources to deliver similar Program of Excellence goaltending camps at the branch level.

The camp will be open to the public, free of charge.

NOTE TO MEDIA: Please contact Keegan Goodrich, Hockey Canada’s coordinator of media relations, at [email protected] or (403) 519-5754 for any interview requests.

For more information on Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence, please visit www.hockeycanada.ca, or follow along through social media at www.facebook.com/hockeycanada, www.twitter.com/hockeycanada and www.twitter.com/hc_men.

For more information:

Director, Communications
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)
[email protected]


Katie Macleod
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-612-2893 (mobile)
[email protected]


2019 MWC: CAN 3 – USA 0 (Preliminary)
Murray stopped 28 shots to backstop Canada to top spot in Group A.
2019 MWC: CAN 5 – DEN 0 (Preliminary)
Reinhart scored 2G and Marchessault had 1G 1A in another Canadian win.
2019 NJAC: BRO 4 – PG 3 (Championship)
Boyko scored twice to lead the Bandits to their second national title.
2019 MWC: CAN 8 – GER 1 (Preliminary)
Stone had a hat trick and Mantha scored twice in a win over Germany.