2019 wwc apr 09 can fin

Schedule unveiled for 2021 IIHF Women’s World Championship

Canada opens tournament against Finland when puck drops May 6

April 1, 2021

CALGARY, Alta. – Canada’s National Women’s Team will begin its quest for a gold medal at the 2021 IIHF Women’s World Championship in Nova Scotia with a match-up against Finland on May 6, highlighting the opening-day schedule.

Hockey Canada and the host organizing committee, on behalf of the International Ice Hockey Federation (IIHF), unveiled the full tournament schedule Thursday. The 31-game schedule will be played at the Scotiabank Centre in Halifax and Rath Eastlink Community Centre in Truro, May 6-16.

As the situation surrounding the COVID-19 pandemic evolves in Nova Scotia, Hockey Canada continues to have regular discussions with the provincial government and Nova Scotia Public Health. The health and safety of all participants remains a priority, and Hockey Canada will continue to explore the opportunity to have a limited number of fans in attendance at both venues.

“The excitement around the IIHF Women’s World Championship has been building in the Province of Nova Scotia for nearly two-and-a-half years, and the release of the schedule provides fans and athletes alike with another reason to get excited for the top hockey players in the world to face off on the East Coast,” said Grant MacDonald, general manager of the 2021 IIHF Women’s World Championship. “It has been 17 years since Nova Scotia last hosted the women’s worlds, and we are thrilled to be back in Halifax and Truro. As the participating teams begin to unveil their rosters over the coming weeks, we know the excitement will continue to build as we look to host a safe and successful world championship.”

The 10-team tournament features Canada in Group A with Finland, Russia, Switzerland and the United States, while Group B is comprised of the Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, Hungary and Japan.

In addition to Canada’s opening-day game against Finland, it will also play Russia on May 8 and Switzerland on May 9 before closing out the preliminary round against its cross-border rival, the United States, on May 11. All four of Canada’s preliminary-round games will take place at 7:30 p.m. AT.

TSN and RDS, the official broadcast partners of Hockey Canada, will carry extensive game coverage and analysis throughout the IIHF Women’s World Championship, and will broadcast all preliminary-round games, quarterfinals, semifinals and medal games in Halifax.

Canada has captured 10 gold medals at the IIHF Women’s World Championship (1990, 1992, 1994, 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2007, 2012), in addition to eight silver (2005, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017) and one bronze (2019).

For more information from the IIHF, please visit the official tournament website at 2021.womensworlds.hockey.

For more information on Hockey Canada, Canada’s National Women’s Team and the 2021 IIHF Women’s World Championship, please visit HockeyCanada.ca, or following along through social media on Facebook and Twitter.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 284-6484 

[email protected] 

Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada

(403) 777-4567

[email protected]

Jeremy Knight
Manager, Corporate Communications
Hockey Canada

(647) 251-9738

[email protected]

2023 U18 Nationals: Saturday, November 11 (Medal Games)
Ontario Red won a 13th U18 Nationals gold in Dawson Creek
2023 U18 Nationals: Friday, November 10 (Semifinals & Placement)
Ontario Red and Quebec will play for U18 Nationals gold in Dawson Creek.
2023 U18 Nationals: Thursday, November 9 (Quarterfinals)
Alberta, B.C., Ontario Red and Quebec advanced to the semifinals in Dawson Creek.
2023 U18 Nationals: Tuesday, November 7 (Preliminary)
Ontario Red and Quebec finish the preliminary round undefeated in Dawson Creek.