2021 ipcwc canadian roster announcement

17 players selected to represent Canada at 2021 IPC World Para Hockey Championship

Canada kicks off world championship against United States on June 19

May 31, 2021

CALGARY, Alta. – With just over three weeks until the puck drops on the 2021 IPC World Para Hockey Championship, Hockey Canada has announced the 17 players that will wear the Maple Leaf at the world championship, June 19-26 in Ostrava, Czech Republic.

Two goaltenders, five defencemen and 10 forwards were selected by head coach Ken Babey (Saskatoon, Sask.) and Marshall Starkman (Thornhill, Ont.), manager of national teams with Hockey Canada. Assistant coaches Steve Arsenault (Edmonton, Alta.), Mike Foligno (Sudbury, Ont.) and Russ Herrington (Unionville, Ont.), and goaltending consultant Mike Fountain (Gravenhurst, Ont.) also provided input.

“We are thrilled to announce the 17 players that have been selected to represent Canada at the IPC World Para Hockey Championship,” said Babey. “As we look ahead to the 2022 Paralympics in Beijing, we are confident in the depth and talent on our roster. Despite having limited opportunities to gather as a full team in the past year, we know our players and staff are excited to compete for a gold medal in the Czech Republic.”

The roster features 13 players that won a silver medal at the 2019 IPC World Para Hockey Championship (Armstrong, Bridges, Cozzolino, Crane, Dunn, Henry, Hickey, Larocque, Lavin, Lehoux, McGregor, Smith, Westlake).

The support staff that will work with Team Canada at the IPC World Para Hockey Championship includes:

  • Mental performance consultant Kyle McDonald (Regina, Sask.)
  • Equipment managers Grant Boswall (Cornwall, P.E.I.) and Tyler Jay (Charlottetown, P.E.I./Saint John, QMJHL)
  • Physiotherapist Michael Lenart (Keswick, Ont.)
  • Team physician Dr. Roy Diklich (Windsor, Ont./Windsor, OHL)
  • Coordinator of national teams Mitchell Furlotte (Bathurst, N.B.)

Canada opens the 2021 IPC World Para Hockey Championship on Saturday, June 19 at Ostravar Arena against the United States, with preliminary-round games through Tuesday, June 22. Canada will also face the host Czech Republic and South Korea in the preliminary round before the tournament wraps up with the bronze and gold medal games on Saturday, June 26.

Canada has captured four gold medals at the IPC World Para Hockey Championship (2000, 2008, 2013, 2017), in addition to two silver (2015, 2019) and three bronze (1996, 2009, 2012).

For more information on Hockey Canada and Canada’s National Para Hockey Team, please visit HockeyCanada.ca, or follow along via social media on Facebook and Twitter.

For more information:

Dominick Saillant
Director, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Esther Madziya
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Manager, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]


2021 MWC: CAN 3 – FIN 2 OT (Gold Medal)
Paul was the overtime hero to give Canada the gold medal in Riga.
2021 MWC: CAN 4 – USA 2 (Semifinal)
Mangiapane scored twice to send Canada into the gold medal game.
2021 MWC: CAN 2 – ROC 1 OT (Quarterfinal)
Stecher set up Mangiapane for the OT winner to earn a semifinal spot.
2021 MWC: FIN 3 – CAN 2 SO (Preliminary)
Pirri and Comtois scored, but Canada fell to the Finns in a shootout.