2018 telus cup sudbury feature
Teams set for 2018 TELUS Cup
Six teams to compete for Canada’s National Midget Championship in Sudbury, Ont.
April 9, 2018

SUDBURY, Ont. – Six of Canada’s top Midget teams have qualified for the 2018 TELUS Cup, Canada’s National Midget Championship, which comes to Sudbury, Ont., April 23-29.

The hosts and Great North Midget League champions, the Sudbury Nickel Capital Wolves, will welcome five regional representatives – Atlantic (Moncton Flyers), Central (Toronto Young Nationals), Quebec (Cantonniers de Magog), Pacific (Lethbridge Hurricanes), and West (Notre Dame Hounds) – to the 4,640-seat Sudbury Community Arena.

Ticket packages are available for purchase online now at HockeyCanada.ca/Tickets for $44, which includes one general admission ticket to all 19 TELUS Cup games. As with all of Hockey Canada’s national championships, all net proceeds from ticket sales remain in the host community as a legacy to support programs that foster the growth of hockey.

“The excitement around the city of Sudbury and the province is continuing to build with the six teams now confirmed for TELUS Cup,” said Tammy Simpson, co-chair of the local host committee. “Fans can expect an exciting, competitive tournament and the full-event ticket package option provides an opportunity to experience a full week’s worth of the best Midget hockey in the country at a very affordable price.”

Organizers of the 2018 TELUS Cup have also announced single-day price options for the national championship. Tickets for one day of preliminary-round action (April 23-27) will cost $15, while tickets for both semifinals on April 28 will cost $20. Fans can also purchase tickets to the bronze- and gold-medal games on April 29 at $15 per game. All single-game and single-day tickets can be purchased at the Sudbury Community Arena box office, or online at HockeyCanada.ca/Tickets starting April 23.

A number of future NHLers have taken part in Canada’s National Midget Championship since its inception in 1974, including 63 first-round draft picks, three No. 1 selections (Gord Kluzak, Wendel Clark, and Sidney Crosby), and eight future Hockey Hall of Fame inductees (Glenn Anderson, Ron Francis, Mike Gartner, Al MacInnis, Larry Murphy, Patrick Roy, Joe Sakic, and Steve Yzerman).

For more information on the TELUS Cup, please visit HockeyCanada.ca/TELUSCup or follow through social media on Facebook and Twitter.

For more information:

Director, Communications
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)
[email protected]


Katie Macleod
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-612-2893 (mobile)
[email protected]


2019 MWC: CAN 3 – USA 0 (Preliminary)
Murray stopped 28 shots to backstop Canada to top spot in Group A.
2019 MWC: CAN 5 – DEN 0 (Preliminary)
Reinhart scored 2G and Marchessault had 1G 1A in another Canadian win.
2019 NJAC: BRO 4 – PG 3 (Championship)
Boyko scored twice to lead the Bandits to their second national title.
2019 MWC: CAN 8 – GER 1 (Preliminary)
Stone had a hat trick and Mantha scored twice in a win over Germany.