2018 hhof inductees
Alumni get call to Hall
Martin Brodeur, Jayna Hefford and Martin St. Louis to be inducted into Hockey Hall of Fame
Jason La Rose
June 26, 2018

Three Canadians with Olympic gold medals on their résumés will earn hockey’s highest honour this fall.

Martin Brodeur, Jayna Hefford and Martin St. Louis were announced Tuesday afternoon as part of the Class of 2018 for the Hockey Hall of Fame, capping careers that included countless highlights both internationally and with their club teams.

Brodeur played 27 games in a Team Canada sweater, finishing with a 17-7-2 record, 2,28 goals-against average and one shutout.

He will forever be remembered as the goaltender who helped Canada end a 50-year Olympic gold medal drought at the 2002 Games in Salt Lake City, and for his perfect 5-0 record two years later to help Canada win its first World Cup of Hockey championship.

The Montreal, Que., native won a second Olympic gold in Vancouver, B.C., in 2010; he was part of the Canadian roster at four Olympics in all (1998, 2002, 2006, 2010), although he never appeared in a game in his first Olympic experience in Nagano, Japan.

Brodeur also played in two IIHF World Championships, helping Canada to silver in 1996 and 2005, and at the 1996 World Cup of Hockey, where the Canadians were runners-up.

A three-time Stanley Cup champion with the New Jersey Devils (1995, 2000, 2003) and four-time Vezina Trophy winner (2002-03, 2003-04, 2006-07, 2007-08), Brodeur holds all-time NHL records for wins (691), shutouts (125), games played (1,266) and minutes played (74,438) in the regular season, and in the history of the Stanley Cup Playoffs he is No. 1 in starts (204) and shutouts (24) and second in wins (113).

Hefford made her debut with Canada’s National Women’s Team at the 1997 IIHF World Women’s Championship, and finished her international career 18 years later ranked second all-time in Team Canada history in games played (267), goals (157) and points (291).

The Kingston, Ont., native is a four-time Olympic gold medallist with Canada in 2002, 2006, 2010 and 2014, and added a silver medal in 1998. In 2002, Hefford scored one of the most important goals in Canadian hockey history, the game-winning goal with two seconds remaining in Canada’s victory against the United States in the gold medal game in Salt Lake City.

She is also a seven-time world champion and five-time silver medallist at the IIHF Women’s World Championship, winning gold in 1997, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2004, 2007 and 2012 and silver in 2005, 2008, 2009, 2011 and 2013.

Additionally, she is a 12-time gold medallist with Canada’s National Women’s Team at the 3 Nations/4 Nations Cup, while also helping Canada to five silver medals at the event.

Hefford played 13 seasons with the Brampton Thunder, winning the NWHL championship in 1999 and 2007, and the CWHL title in 2008, the same year she was named league MVP. In 2016, the CWHL introduced the Jayna Hefford Trophy, presented to the MVP as judged by the players.

St. Louis didn’t represent his country for the first time until just before his 30th birthday; after winning the Art Ross Trophy, Hart Trophy and Stanley Cup with the Tampa Bay Lightning in 2003-04, St. Louis had four points in six games to help Canada claim the 2004 World Cup of Hockey.

The Laval, Que., native finished second in Canadian scoring at the 2006 Olympic Winter Games, and won back-to-back silver medals at the IIHF World Championship in 2008 and 2009, leading the tournament in scoring and earning a spot on the media all-star team in 2009.

St. Louis closed his international career at the 2014 Olympic Winter Games in Sochi, seeing action in five games and helping Canada to its second consecutive Olympic gold medal. His Team Canada totals included 32 points (10 goals, 22 assists) in 35 games.

In addition to his two Art Ross Trophies and one Hart Trophy, St. Louis was a three-time recipient of the Lady Byng Trophy as the NHL’s most gentlemanly player (2009-10, 2010-11, 2012-13), and earned a spot on the NHL First All-Star Team in 2003-04, and on the NHL Second All-Star Team in 2006-07, 2009-10, 2010-11 and 2012-13.

The three will join the rest of the Class of 2018 – Gary Bettman, Willie O’Ree and Alexander Yakushev – for the Induction Ceremony at the Hockey Hall of Fame in Toronto on Nov. 12.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]


Katie Macleod
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-284-6427
Mobile: 403-612-2893
[email protected]


2019 NPT Camp: WHT 5 – JPN 0 (Game 5)
Dunn lit the lamp three times to net White a victory over Japan.
2019 NPT Camp: RED 5 – JPN 0 (Game 4)
Sorley and Culmone netted two goals apiece to lead Red to the victory.
2019 NPT Camp: RED 1 – WHT 0 (Game 3)
Culmone scored and Larocque made 14 saves to help Red blank White.
2019 NPT Camp: WHT 15 – JPN 0 (Game 2)
McGregor drove his team to the win column with a six-point outing.