2018 19 npt sept 05 red wht b
18 players named to Canada’s 2018-19 National Para Hockey Team
Team to compete at Canadian Tire Para Hockey Cup in December
September 7, 2018

CALGARY, Alta. – Following the end of Canada’s National Para Hockey Team selection camp on Friday, Hockey Canada has selected 18 players to represent Canada through the 2018-19 season.

The roster includes nine players (Bridges, Cozzolino, Dunn, Gemmell, Hickey, Larocque, McGregor, Smith, Watson) who won a silver medal at the 2018 Paralympic Winter Games in PyeongChang, South Korea, and secured Canada’s best para hockey finish since 2006.

The 18 players named to Canada’s 2018-19 National Para Hockey Team include:

  • Goaltenders Dominic Larocque (Quebec City) and Corbin Watson (Kingsville, Ont.)
  • Defencemen Rod Crane (Clarksburg, Ont.), James Gemmell (Quesnell, B.C.), Liam Hickey (St. John’s, N.L.), Zach Lavin (Okotoks, Alta.) and Kevin Sorley (Petersburg, Ont.)
  • Forwards Alexis Auclair (Saint-Hyacinthe, Que.), Billy Bridges (Summerside, P.E.I.), Dominic Cozzolino (Mississauga, Ont.), Cody Dolan (Calgary), James Dunn (Wallacetown, Ont.), Anton Jacobs-Webb (Gatineau, Que.), Micah Kovacevich (Edmonton), Antoine Lehoux (Thetford Mines, Que.), Tyler McGregor (Forest, Ont.), Garrett Riley (Brantford, Ont.) and Corbyn Smith (Monkton, Ont.)

“We were very excited about this group of players coming into camp as we had a good mix of veterans and prospects, and the level of competition throughout the week showed just how strong this year’s group was,” said head coach Ken Babey (Saskatoon, Sask.). “The amount of talent that was on display during our intrasquad games made for many difficult decisions, but we’re pleased with the group of players that have been selected to represent Canada. We know we have a very strong group with a great leadership core, and we believe these players will give us the best chance to win at all stages this season.”

Babey led the selection process for the 28 players invited to the camp, with assistance from Hockey Canada’s management group.

The 18 players chosen will continue to train and compete in international competitions, including the Canadian Tire Para Hockey Cup, Dec. 2-8 in London, Ont., as well as a cross-border series with the United States in March. The season will culminate at the IPC World Para Hockey Championship in Ostrava, Czech Republic in April. 

For more information on Canada’s National Para Hockey Team, please visit HockeyCanada.ca, or follow along via Facebook and Twitter.

For more information:

Director, Communications
Hockey Canada


Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
403-777-4567 / 905-906-5327 (mobile)


Katie Macleod
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
403-284-6427 / 403-612-2893 (mobile)


2018 U17: SWE 4 – CAN-R 3 SO (Bronze Medal)
Raymond scored the lone goal in the shootout to give Sweden bronze.
2018 U17: RUS 2 – FIN 1 (Gold Medal)
Gushchin and Kokhanin scored to give the Russians a fourth U17 gold.
2018 4NC: USA 5 – CAN 2 (Gold Medal)
Fortino and Bourbonnais scored, but Canada finished with silver.
2018 U17: RUS 6 – SWE 4 (Semifinal)
Ponomaryov had 2G 2A to help the Russians reach the gold medal game.