image 3da3ede3b45b67cce6c895d438fcd461
National Junior Team Alumni Reunion Set for 2012 IIHF World Junior Championship in Calgary, Celebrating 30th Year Anniversary of Hockey Canada's Program of Excellence
December 31, 2011

CALGARY, Alta. – Hockey Canada, along with the Canadian Hockey League, the Hockey Canada Foundation and the 2012 IIHF World Junior Championship host committee, is hosting a reunion of Canada’s National Junior Team alumni through Jan., celebrating and commemorating the 30th year anniversary of Hockey Canada’s Program of Excellence.

The Hockey Canada Foundation has organized three National Junior Team reunions at past IIHF World Junior Championships, the 19 teams in 2006, the 1988 team in 2009 and the 19 teams in 2010.  This marks the first time that representatives from all teams dating back to the founding of the Program of Excellence have been part of a reunion.

All former players and coaches were invited, along with a number of builders who had an impact on the program. The reunion will be highlighted by a participation in an IIHF World Junior Championship celebration at Olympic Plaza on New Year’s Day, a sponsors brunch, a meet and greet with the 2012 National Junior Team, appearances at the Molson Hockey House and a presentation during Canada’s semi-final game on Jan..

NOTE TO MEDIA – Approximately twenty Team Canada alumni will be present and available for media interviews at the World Junior Championship celebration at the Olympic Plaza in downtown Calgary on Jan. 1, between 11 am-2 pm MT.

NOTE TO MEDIA: Direct all media requests for alumni via e-mail to Chris Bright, executive director of the Hockey Canada Foundation ([email protected]). Requests for interviews will be accommodated as best as possible, schedule permitting.


1982 – Garth Butcher, Frank Caprice, Moe Lemay, Mike Moller, Todd Strueby, Carey Wilson, Georges Larivière (coach)

1983 – Gord Sherven, Pat Verbeek, Doug Sauter (coach)

1984 – Russ Courtnall, Dan Hodgson, Brian Kilrea (coach), Georges Larivière (coach)

1985 – Norm Foster, Dan Hodgson

1986 – Dave Moylan, Luc Robitaille

1987 – Pat Elynuik, Theoren Fleury, Greg Hawgood, David Latta, Steve Nemeth, Stéphane Roy

1988 – Dan Currie, Theoren Fleury, Greg Hawgood, Sheldon Kennedy, Scott McCrady

1989 - Rob Cimetta, Corey Foster, Martin Gélinas, Sheldon Kennedy, Darcy Loewen, Rob Murphy, Darrin Shannon, Tom Webster (coach)

1990 – Dave Chyzowski, Trevor Kidd, Steven Rice

1991 – Trevor Kidd, Steven Rice

1992 – Trevor Kidd, Steve Junker, Tyler Wright

1993 – Jeff Shantz, Brent Tully, Dave Siciliano (coach), Jos Canale (coach)

1994 – Chris Armstrong, Jason Botterill, Todd Harvey, Brent Tully, Jos Canale (coach)

1995 - Jason Botterill, Todd Harvey, Marty Murray

1996 – Jason Botterill, Curtis Brown, Jason Podollan, Rhett Warrener, Terry Bangen (coach), Marcel Comeau (coach), Blair MacKasey (coach)

1997 – Jason Doig, Hugh Hamilton, Brad Isbister, Cameron Mann

1998 – Zenith Komarniski, Daniel Tkaczuk

1999 – Daniel Tkaczuk

2000 – Kyle Rossiter

1999, 2001, 2002 – Stan Butler (coach)

2003, 2004 – Mario Durocher (coach)

2006 – Dan Bertram

2008, 2009 – Curtis Hunt (coach)

Scouts: Frank Bonello, Sheldon Ferguson, James Gregory, Jim Hammett, Blair MacKasey, Ray Payne, Barry Trapp

Builders/Management: Sherry Bassin, Murray Costello, Denis Hainault, Ryan Jankowski, Ron Pyette, Bob Strumm, George Ward

The alumni list does not include Hockey Canada staff and 2012 National Junior Team staff, such as head coach Don Hay and assistant coaches George Burnett and Ryan Huska, who will attend certain activities, schedule permitting.

For more information:

Esther Madziya
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
[email protected]


Spencer Sharkey
Coordinator, Communications
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-777-4567
Mobile: 905-906-5327
[email protected]


Katie Macleod
Coordinator, Media Relations
Hockey Canada
Office: 403-284-6427
Mobile: 403-612-2893
[email protected]


2019 WU18 Series: CAN 5 – USA 4 (Game 1)
McLeod scored twice to lead Canada to the series-opening victory.
2019 NWDT Series: USA 4 – CAN 3 OT (Game 1)
Shirley and O’Neill forced OT, but Canada dropped the series opener.
2019 Hlinka Gretzky Cup: RUS 3 – CAN 2 (Gold Medal)
Byfield and Foudy scored, but Canada was left with a silver medal.
2019 NWDT Camp: GLD 3 – RED 1 (Game 11)
Eldridge and O'Neill put Gold ahead with two goals in 61 seconds.