2016 Esso Cup

2016 Esso Cup | Women’s U18 Club Championship

Seven different players scored – and 12 players in all had at least a point – as the Brantford Ice Cats defeated the Express du Richelieu to win the 2016 Esso Cup.
© Andy Devlin / Hockey Canada Images
Kayla Bailey and Taylor Trussler couldn’t stay off the scoresheet and Breanne Trotter helped score her team a medal.
Long after the national champion gets crowned every April, the legacy of the Esso Cup lives on in its host communities.
Late to hockey as a player, Michelle Stapleton has spent more than a decade making a name in the game as an official.
Needing a change of hockey scenery, Maeve McGauley traded in what she knew for what could be – and found her game.
Being left off the Saskatoon Stars roster a year ago motivated Anna Leschyshyn to help the team return to the Esso Cup.
A national champion in two disciplines, Metro’s Terra Lanteigne wants a third before setting sail on her next adventure.
Brantford’s Taylor Trussler looked to be a big fish in a small pond. Turns out she’s a big fish in a big pond, too.
Weyburn’s committed group of billet families has given Gold Wings players a team at the rink and in the community.
Three first-time participants, two returning challengers and one previous champion will make their way to Weyburn.
In a season that ebbed and flowed each month, the host team hopes April showers in the start of another Esso Cup reign.
Encouraging creativity led to mistakes, but the Ice Cats’ brand of high-risk hockey produced a provincial championship.
Their roster may return 14 players, but the Saskatoon Stars are not the same team that won Esso Cup bronze a year ago.
Having created their own luck and made their wish come true, the Quebec champs are counting the minutes to Weyburn.
After a regular season title and five playoff shutouts, the self-admitted overachievers aren’t surprising anyone.
The Atlantic champions weathered adversity and found redemption. Now they try to ride their defence to a historic medal.
The West Region hasn’t won the most medals at the Esso Cup, but it has won the most gold. What’s the secret?
Hosting the Esso Cup is about more than crowning a national champion, it’s about growing the game, and the community.
Before representing their country internationally, Emily Clark and Jessica Campbell made their marks in the SFMAAAHL.
Jenna Velji took on a hat trick of roles when Burnaby, B.C., hosted the 2013 Esso Cup. This time she just wants to play.
National champions in 2014, the Weyburn Gold Wings want to make a little more Esso Cup history when they serve as host.
Kate Lloyd made 18 saves to lead the Raiders to the bronze medal.
Élöise Dubé and Joannie Garand scored in the shootout once again.
The Ice Cats shut out the Stars behind 27 saves from Emma Verbruggen.
Madison Solie and Jenna Grube scored in the shootout for Weyburn.
Grace Shirley’s third period goal lifted the Stars into the semis.
Éloïse Dubé and Joannie Garand scored in the shootout for Richelieu.
Sarah Hornoi’s goal 3:36 into overtime gave Weyburn its first win.
Nicolette Seper scored twice to lead the Raiders past the Express.
Taylor Trussler’s power play goal late in the second was the winner.
Joannie Garand’s three-point game led the Express over the Gold Wings.
Nicole Kelly scored two goals in leading Brantford to its second win.
Rocky Mountain knocked off the previously unbeaten Saskatoon.
Nicole Kelly had a hat trick to lead the Ice Cats to their first win.
Terra Lanteigne earned the shutout for the team from Halifax.
Anna Leschyshyn scored twice and the Stars improved to 2-0 in Weyburn.
Emma Johnson earned the shutout in the Battle of Saskatchewan.
Hailey McCallum scored twice to lift the Raiders over the Ice Cats.
Katyanne Lebrun scored and the Express won the Esso Cup opener.
2024 Esso Cup: Saturday, April 27 (Bronze and Gold)
Saturday, April 27 (Bronze and Gold)
2024 Esso Cup: Friday, April 26 (Semifinal)
The Rebels and Storm earned semifinal wins on Day 6 of the Esso Cup.
2024 Esso Cup: Wednesday, April 24 (Preliminary)
The Rebels, Intrépide and Jr. Oilers earned points on Day 4 of the Esso Cup.
2024 Esso Cup: Tuesday, April 23 (Preliminary)
The Selects, Storm and Jr. Oilers were the winners on Day 3 of the Esso Cup.